The Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra



The Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra (SUA) is a top educational and scientific institution with its main aim to provide students with higher education in agriculture and related sciences such as European Studies and Regional Development, Food Science, Biotechnology, Economics and Management, Landscape Architecture, Landscape Engineering and Technical fields. SUA has attained the position of one of Slovakia’s leading universities in the period since it was founded in 1952. The University is consistently rated in the top group for the high quality of its teaching and research in the Slovak Republic. In 2010, as the first university in Slovakia, SUA was awarded the prestigious ECTS Label by the European Commission for the provision and implementation of the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System for student mobilities.

SUA consists of 6 faculties which provide education within 3 cycles of Study (BSc. Degree, Msc. Degree, PhD. Degree): Faculty of European Studies and Regional Development, Faculty of Economics and Management, Technical Faculty, Faculty of Horticulture and Landscape Engineering, Faculty of Agrobiology and Food Resources and Faculty of Biotechnology and Food Sciences. At present SUA is the only university in Slovakia which in its research and educational process focuses on those aspects of law that is related to land and sustainability of agriculture (in particular Department of Law FESRD).