The Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra - Coordinator, Partner 1



The Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra (SUA) is a top educational and scientific institution with its main aim to provide students with higher education in agriculture and related sciences such as European Studies and Regional Development, Food Science, Biotechnology, Economics and Management, Landscape Architecture, Landscape Engineering and Technical fields. SUA has attained the position of one of Slovakia’s leading universities in the period since it was founded in 1952. The University is consistently rated in the top group for the high quality of its teaching and research in the Slovak Republic. In 2010, as the first university in Slovakia, SUA was awarded the prestigious ECTS Label by the European Commission for the provision and implementation of the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System for student mobilities.

SUA consists of 6 faculties which provide education within 3 cycles of Study (BSc. Degree, Msc. Degree, PhD. Degree): Faculty of European Studies and Regional Development, Faculty of Economics and Management, Technical Faculty, Faculty of Horticulture and Landscape Engineering, Faculty of Agrobiology and Food Resources and Faculty of Biotechnology and Food Sciences. At present SUA is the only university in Slovakia which in its research and educational process focuses on those aspects of law that is related to land and sustainability of agriculture (in particular Department of Law FESRD).

The University of Foggia - Partner 2


The University of Foggia was founded by decree of the Ministry of University and Research on 5th August 1999. Since the beginning the university, at training and research level, has proved to be dynamic and innovative. One of its top priorities is the internationalization of academic relationships and of research. The five main Departments (Agriculture, Economics, Law, Arts and Philosophy, Medicine and Surgery, Education) have contributed to make the University of Foggia a lively cultural centre which attracts foreign students every year. The scientific community of the University of Foggia is composed of: 173 researchers, 103 associate professors and 95 ordinary professors. The administrative personnel amounts to 376, while there are more than 11,000 students. The Division for International Relations of the University of Foggia, since 2001, has been engaged in promoting and fostering its academic collaborations with Universities and enterprises at local, national and international level.  Several agreements have been signed with European and Third-Country Universities and Organizations in order to provide the University of Foggia students and graduates with the opportunity to spend time periods abroad on study and/or training purpose. Please visit, for instance, the weblink  in order to find useful info on our latest research project which was funded three years ago under the Seventh Framework Programme, Research Potential Action.

University of Bialystok, Partner 3


University of Bialystok was created in 1997 by transforming the former 29 – year old Branch of Warsaw University. Over the fifteen years the University has become a dynamically growing institution of higher education, the largest in Podlasie, both in respect of the number of research workers, fields of study and forms of education offered as well as the number of students and graduates. The University consists of nine faculties, including one located abroad in Vilnius. Classes and lectures are delivered by app. 900 academic teachers including more than 200 university and tenured professors. At present the University offers courses in 27 fields of study and over 70 specializations for app. 17.000 students. The major fields of study offer unique and inter-faculty courses created to meet the social demand. The University offers as many as 100 different postgraduate courses. The scientific staff at the University conduct scientific research at international level, both in natural and exact sciences as well as in humanities and social sciences, not only expanding the boundaries of knowledge by making discoveries, but also by providing expertise and experience to the whole region of Podlasie. The works connected with the unique nature and cultural diversity of the region should be especially emphasized. The University is currently realizing about 60 agreements on scientific cooperation with partner foreign universities.

The University of Cordoba, Partner 4


The University of Cordoba (UCO) was granted charter in 1972, although its roots lie in Universidad Libre 1870. This young, mid-sized university (19,500 students, 1400 teachers, 700 staff) is a dynamic institution successfully adapted to the current demands for excellence in teaching and proven scientific expertise.
Three different campuses gather the UCO academic offer in Humanities, Legal & Social Sciences, Science & Technology, and Health Sciences. The UCO coordinates 5 Andalusian universities within the Agrifood Campus of International Excellence (ceiA3), aimed at finding answers to agricultural challenges of 21st century and to put at the disposal of society the scientific work of 200 research groups.

University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna, Partner 5


BOKU, the only Austrian university in the area of Natural Resources Management and Life Sciences, with some 12000 students (21% of which are international) has vast experience in co-ordinating research and educational EU projects and managing student & staff exchanges in various scholarship programmes. At European level BOKU is actively engaged in networks, focusing on relevant topics in education and research, like ICA and its subgroups as well as in regional networks e.g., ASEA-Uninet and EURASIA – Pacific – Uninet. In the last 4 years, BOKU developed its first three joint degree master programmes, 8 double/multiple degree master programs, and three doctoral schools. In the QS World University Ranking by Subject 2012 and 2013, BOKU was listed Top 51-100. BOKU is also listed in the Green metric world university ranking: rank 8 worldwide in general and 2nd in education world-wide.

University of Agribusiness and Rural Development, Partner 6


University of Agribusiness and Rural Development (UARD), successor of the Higher School "Agricultural College" was founded in 1992. By a decision of the National Assembly from 06.07.2011 (Official Gazette 54/15.07.2011) the Higher School "Agricultural College" was transformed into University  of Agribusiness and Rural development, which provides training in "Bachelor" and "Master" degrees. University has both national and international accreditation including all forms of study– full-time, part-time and distance learning in the following specialties: Agribusiness Management, Business Management, Economics of tourism, Agricultural economics, Finance, Information Systems Management at BSc degree. Besides it offers range of MSc programs in the field of agribusiness, rural development, tourism, finance, banking, accounting, auditing, marketing, project management, municipality management, etc.

University of Agribusiness and Rural Development is well-experienced in international and regional projects preparation, management and implementation embracing a number of successful activities.

The University has close contacts with industry to prepare students to the requirements of the labour market.